fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

The DIET to END ALL DIETS!!!!

37 Comments

1. Eat fruits, vegetables, nuts, and beans
2.Drink water when thirsty
3. Exercise everyday

This is all it takes!
First things first this is originally from the book Approaching the Natural by Sid Garza-Hillmon

Now this looks awesome on paper and I can say I’ve come to the point in my journey that I stick to this a whole lot more then I don’t. I’m not perfect like everyone else I stumble all the time. I didn’t wake up one morning with this amazing epiphany of needing to stop eating all animal products. Rather it was a process of me trying to stop feeling so crappy everyday and trying to achieve optimal health. Notice I never mentioned weight loss I had already lost over a hundred pounds the wrong way but at around 250 lbs I thought I looked pretty good and had ran a few marathons at that weight, I just wasn’t to concerned about it. In hind site this may have been the biggest part of my success. The only caveat to what I was looking for was that is was not a DIET, diets have a start and a finish and I wanted a lifestyle not a gimmick. I hopped online and away I went searching and the ratio of diets to actual sustainable lifestyle changes are extreme to say the least. I found many possible options that I was considering but then I came across the movie Forks Over Knives and it opened my eyes to the power of a plant based life. It also provided the proof I needed with the medical and scientific results it showed. They proved it reversed heart disease among other western societies biggest killers. When Iwas kid, I witnessed my father have a heart attack, he was in his mid 30’s. Oh snap, I turned 33 yesterday! I think my motivation for having optimal health is pretty clear, I don’t want to have a heart attack like the three generations before me. Last thanksgiving I had my last meal before I began the transition to a 100% plant based life. Like I said I’ve stumbled sometimes hard, like the time I ordered 2 apple pies and a ice tea at McDonald’s (it was the lesser of the evils) when they gave me the order there were 2 twenty piece mcnuggets, a test from the universe that I failed with each bite of those forty delicious nuggets. That was the last time I’ve eaten chicken or farm variety of animal product, because I felt soooo shitty the next day and not with guilt but physically ill and bloated from the ridiculous amount of sodium I had consumed. As for the guilt, I don’t have it anymore when I slip up….we give to much power to food and it becomes a viscous cycle. I ate the food I shouldn’t have and that’s it i can’t go back, but I do remember how I felt and I hold onto that. Its a process always being tested and I pass more than fail now, but knowing I can always get better. Do I expect or even think this kind of eating is for everyone? No, we are all on our own paths of health, I can only speak for myself and my experiences with it. I’m not a doctor or a nutritionist, but I know I feel great a lot more than I feel bad and my health per blood work and BMI is almost perfect now. Now for the big question, how much weight did I lose? Well here it is, I lost 60 lbs in the first 6 months with working out no more then 4 days a week and another 10 since I started a more intense training for the ultra.

It turns out the side effect of a healthy body is a healthy body weight…. Oh I was able to stop taking allergy medicine too!

F2P

37 thoughts on “The DIET to END ALL DIETS!!!!

  1. I totally agree with you that we give too much power to food. I’ve stopped weighing myself all together and for me this was very important. I stopped letting the number on the scale dictate what kind of day I was going to have.

  2. I’d say I’m now about 80% raw again, and I consume very few animal products (poultry, eggs, fish or butter). I juice regularly and I can’t eat ultra sugary or salty food anymore. My body goes into rejection mode and I feel like total shit afterwards. I can barely stand the commercial orange and apple juices I used to buy! I just juice everything and it tastes so much better! I also replaced rice and pasta with quinoa and quinoa pasta and that pretty much sums it up. It feels great and I love what I’m doing. I just try to make conscious choices and I’m far more gentle with myself than I ever have been. It sure helps a lot and I feel like a million bucks !! πŸ™‚

  3. Aww man, I thought you were going to say there’s a magic pill I could take. Should I start waiting for that, or continue with my healthy eating and exercising? πŸ˜‰

  4. I’ve been wanting to change to a vegetarian diet for a few years now, I just don’t have the guts to do it for some reason.

  5. Are you exercising every day? I would think that would be too much for your body. What about all the rest we are supposed to need?

    • Yeah I workout most days with two a days on weds, but I also eat around 3k+ cals a day. I feel like my recovery time has been reduced to almost nothing since switching to a plant based diet, plus I didn’t wake up one day and jump right into where I’m at today, its a process. As for rest I believe in more of an active recovery but if I feel run down or just lazy it may just be an easy bike ride. Thanks for the comment!

  6. I totally agree with you and the other comments made. I am 4 days into my raw food challenge and although I felt good before on the alkaline diet, this is just one notch further. Like you, I am not going to pigeon hole myself – if (after the challenge) I have a huge urge for fish or a flat white and caramel shortbread, I’ll go with it. I have no desire to make either of these a regular part of my life and I love eating healthily but I don’t like feelings of guilt or deprivation either. (And even on my raw challenge I am having a cup of tea each morning – just the one – as that is something I really enjoy!) Your transformation has been amazing – great job πŸ™‚ )

  7. This is so spot on! Years ago I started on that same journey of cutting out meat, not to lose weight but exactly as you say, to stop feeling crappy!

  8. That is awesome!!!! As for the part about not needing allergy medicine anymore … my whole life I thought I had multiple food allergies. Then, after years of being vegetarian, “mostly vegan,” – say 95% – 98% vegan – I really made an effort to avoid every bit of dairy. My allergies and my skin cleared completely up! Now, if I eat even a tiny bit of dairy, I become congested and start getting itchy, gooey “allergy eyes.” Makes it very easy for me not to cheat!

    • Ironically I gave up dairy way before this because of my season allergies just to help, but now I don’t have to even take my Zyrtec which I was taking daily before. Thanks for the comment and also your blog is amazing!

  9. So much power to food, we treat it as a reward. It’s fuel for our bodies.

    I love it and I love treats. It’s all about moderation. More good than bad. More moving then eating.

  10. You’re story Is so motivating and inspiring. I really admire you!! Do you have any recommendations for a good cookbook for a veggie diet?

  11. Great post. I trained for a 210km cycle and my view of food changed – it’s amazing that the body just craves fuel and good food when it used to only want chocolate! I don’t know if I’d manage to cut out meat entirely, but definitely eat smaller meat portions and nothing processed. 100% agree that a gradual lifestyle change is the key, I would only fight against a strict diet and feel I was missing out, but just changing little things for the better leaves you wondering why you haven’t done it earlier!

  12. Inspirational! I’ve fallen off the wagon thanks to college. Looking forward to following for some extra motivation πŸ™‚

  13. Have you read Scott Jurek’s book “Eat and Run” or Rich Roll’s book? Roll is an ultra endurance runner, recovered alcoholic who did 5 Ironman races in one week with a friend and virtually no support on a vegan diet. He is a great example that you can get enough protein and carbs on a plant diet. I haven’t gone the whole hog, I’m still eating fish, but I love eating lots of plants! Keep it up.

    • I actually just got EAT and RUN last week for my birthday, and I’m a huge huge Rich Roll fan I actually have a link to his site on my side bar. Thanks for checking out Fat2Plant!

  14. About those McD nuggets: I read Mike Adams story about McD nuggets and what he found in them yesterday. Here is the link: http://www.naturalnews.com/041646_Chicken_McNuggets_forensic_food_analysis_strange_fibers.html

  15. Thank you so much for sharing…I started a wheat and dairy free plan this month in hopes that it will help me feel better. So far, I feel great! No headaches, no stomach aches, no bloating. This is the right move for me. Currently, I am still eating turkey and fish but not daily and no other flesh. I’m sure eventually I will end all meat because I just feel SO much better and remarkably not hungry all day like when I was overeating wheat products! BTW, Forks over Knives and Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead were both very good and informative on the lifestyle change. Thanks again; Be well!

  16. Read Dr McDougall’s Starch Book and have been ( always have) a starch eater- potatoes and yams, rice/barley,buckwheat etc, Corn and of course beans…

    Really makes eating filling and easy to fight snacking….Plus lots of greens and smoothies and other fun

    Pics post at blog at on my Twitter/Fb
    https://twitter.com/martyroddy

  17. So True! Strange how the best foods for us are the ones that were put on this earth for us to eat huh?! And NOT made in a lab. We humans really complicate things more than they need to be sometimes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

