fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

The Year to Be Selfish….

25 Comments

I have touched upon this topic before but I think it’s so important that I have to mention it again, being selfish. As most of us set our goals or resolutions for 2014, I assume most are going to be in the health category. These goals are for you so they are intended to be selfish so it should be totally acceptable to be selfish to obtain healthy changes in your life. It’s all about standing up for yourself and taking on the naysayers and haters, because no one else will or can take care of your body and health. Make your goals public and I bet you find others with the same goals and BAM you have others to be selfish with for the common goal.

My own experience, and actually one of my goals for this coming year, is to have more like minded people in my life. I’m very happy with things I’ve accomplished but at the same time I’ve isolated myself and know I’ve missed out on being that much better. It can be scary to put your business out to the whole world, but think about all the other crap people put on Facebook and if it’s for your health it’s worth it. Flip the script and if you see someone else with similar goals approach them, what’s the worst that can happen they say “no”? That’s the best part about social media it’s easy to be brave at a keyboard, send a little private message saying “hey, I have those same goals you posted, you want to knock this out together?” Again this is going to be one of my biggest personal goals to focuses on in 2014, being part of an awesome tribe of people.

Also have a couple sets of goals, have your big goals and also have your “confidence” goals, these goals are shorter term and have higher rates of success which in turn keeps you more confident on achieving the big ones. The biggest thing is to be ready to stumble, be ready for others to question you, and try to bring you down. This WILL happen and this is when it’s all about being selfish! Make it the greatest year of your life, health is the greatest thing you can give not only yourself but everyone else in your life.

I’m going to create a page just for my 2014 goals for everyone to see and if you think I’m slacking or just wonder what’s going on with a specific one, call me out. No feelings will be hurt….

Happy New Year!
Fat2Plant

20131231-170744.jpg

25 thoughts on “The Year to Be Selfish….

  1. Happy, happy new year’s!!! 😀

    Have an beautiful day and new year. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. I think that putting yourself first is absolutely okay and necessary when it comes to your health and fitness and happiness, and if people see that as selfish in a negative way, they don’t get the point!!! How can we look after ourselves if we are not ‘selfish’?? Good luck with your goals and continuing your fabulous health and fitness journey and happy new year ☺️

  3. Taking care of yourself is Survival 101. It is smart not selfish. It allows you to help those under your protective umbrella. And you are setting a great example for your children. Best of wishes for a happy New Year to you and yours! I am looking forward to reading about your adventures in 2014.

  4. Can’t wait to see what you’re working towards in 2014.

    I don’t know that I’d ever really verbalized it, even internally, but I’d absolutely love to be surrounded by more like-minded and similarly motivated people. If you’ve got room in your tribe, I’d love to walk with you.

  5. Yes, I’m all in (except for running marathon, I’m more into interval).
    This year is going to be about me, me, me, It’s going to be great, and hopefully getting in shape and being good to myself will add more years to my life and give more life to my years.
    Happy New Year!

  6. Excellent blog post, I can fully relate to the isolation around doing your own thing and at times needing to block out people who you feel are doubting or negative influences or who see your new focus, determination and drive as very selfish I’ve experienced this first hand. It is time to embrace and accept that as our fitness and health evolves and we develop as people the previous social circles and relationships we have with others will inevitably evolve some for the better and some for the worst. Reaching out to people who share similar interests can only be a good thing and make you learn more about your own journey. My best wishes for 2014 and I look forward to following.

  7. I absolutely love the idea of creating a 2014 Goals page! Hope you don’t mind if I copy your idea. 😀 I think it makes perfect sense to put yourself first especially when it comes to health and to help each other stay accountable to our goals. Since I have been on this journey to better myself in all areas of my life I have lost people who I thought would always be there for me. What I didn’t realize was that once I started putting myself first it made them feel uncomfortable being around me. Excuses like being busy, having previous engagements and being tired were thrown around a lot as well as my personal favorite “When you give up on this new thing you’re doing give me a call”. So I fully embrace any cyber friends that is doing their life on their terms and is willing to be supported by others and also give that same support back.

  8. Thank you for writing! Inadvertently, I have been seeking more like-minded people as well, and God has provided (and it’s just the beginning – yay!), though there is that weird period during transitions like these where you’re “isolated” a lot of the time. I don’t consider wanting to spend time with myself isolation, but building a stronger relationship with myself. However conceited this may sound, I carried a lot of dead weight with certain relationships in my life and it feels so freeing to let them go. I have a really energetic personality and there are certain types of people that instead of exchanging positivity, like to suck it from my soul. If we’re not lifting each other up and being supportive through all of life’s seasons, what’s the point?
    I’ll be following your journeys through 2014 as we’re on similar paths!

  9. Well said, it’s only you as a person that can start to implement and make the changes for your better health and outlook on life. Thanks for sharing and good luck with your goals 🙂

  10. I wrote a blog post about this awhile back. It’s good to be reminded of the value of self-centeredness 🙂

  11. Happy, happy new year’s

  12. YEP Im with you, look after number one, be kind to yourself and the rest will follow x

Leave a Reply

