fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

Where have I been?!?!

14 Comments

I wish I could say I was off on an epic adventure, but I wasn’t. I have been injured though, the first time in my athletic life even going back to high school, and it had a huge effect on my mental state in the beginning. I started putting on weight at a break neck speed and the full blown melt down was a brewing. I think we need diversity to realize what is missing in our lives or at least make us realize we need to have a moment to step back. I had been incredibly “comfortable” in my routine and had become complaisant, I ran a lot and bounced around on my nutrition though all plant based I never focused on one single version. Some times I was the raw fruitarian other times the no sugar no grains higher fat dude and everything in between. Well once the high volume aerobic disappeared the lack of consistency in my diet reared it’s ugly head and soon was all over the place trying to figure out what camp I wanted/needed to belong too. I felt like I was 365 lbs again trying to figure what I needed to and was reminded how hard it is for everyone else out there trying to change their lives for the first time or the 15th time. So many books and people giving out different info all over the place, it’s a big world of information! Ironically it was my wife who brought me the info that has me back in control and able to right the ship. I’ve learned to be okay with gym again, don’t get me wrong I miss the ability to just throw on my Altras and hit the road or trails but I’ve learned to look at the big picture. I will get back out there hopefully soon, but in the mean time I will keep grinding it out in the gym. With an amazing new structured nutritional plan and exploring new forms of exercise I feel really amazing about things to come. Again I want to give a HUGE shout out to Sid Garza-Hillman he continues to put out amazing content and is changing lives!!! Also check out ALTRA and all the new shoes that have just been released and others soon to be released, there is something for every one I promise you that.

I love feed back and questions, so keep them coming!! Follow me on twitter and Instagram @fat2plant.

I hope I can get this blog rolling again!

Cody

20140519-115004.jpg

14 thoughts on “Where have I been?!?!

  1. welcome back and take care!
    I agree that the info stream that floods us on a daily basis is rather discouraging, however I am a believer in consistency, dosage, and versatility.

  2. I was just wondering yesterday where you went. Sounds like my Feb/March keep rocking it out man, here and at home 👊

  3. I love the picture of the kitten!! That is too bad about the injury. I think we find our strength when we figure out how to bounce back time and time again. In my experience, getting older is a continuous exercise in learning humility. The silver lining is that all the challenges can lead to the kind of Wisdom that can’t be bought or read only learned. Good luck in all your efforts. I will look forward to reading how things are going one way or the other.

  4. I’m ironically in a similar state. That’s why I’ve been quiet. Didn’t realise how much I needed the physical activity to clear my mind.

  5. So sorry to read about your injury and the resulting journey you’ve been through. It sounds like you’ve found a perfect path back to where you want to be, I hope you feel good and on top of things again soon 🙂

  6. The early days of an injury can be so hard, but I’m glad you’ve found your way to the gym. An injury is usually the only time I can make myself go to the gym more than once a week. Being recently injured myself, I’ve discovered that I enjoy the rowing machine (go figure!), and I also like the definition I’m getting from weights. I hope your injury heals soon. Maybe you’ll be able to find a balance between gym workouts and outdoor (considerably more fun) ones. Happy healing!

  7. Something about this past winters that had so many people injuring themselves, myself included. I know exactly what you’re going through. Keeping blogging on your progress, feel good to share and know everything you do matters to yourself and others. Here’s a motivating article on the benefits of working out: http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/things-that-inevitably-happen-when-you-start-getting-in-s

Leave a Reply

